### For Immediate Release



Media Contact:
Patrick Reilly
Manager, Communications
preilly@abpn.org

# American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology Announces 2024 Board of Directors

January 4, 2024, Deerfield, III. --- The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) announces its 2024 Board of Directors. The board's term runs from January through December 2024.



Steven Lewis, MD



Nina Schor, MD, PhD

# ABPN Chairs Steven Lewis, MD, (January through June) and Nina Schor, MD, PhD, (July through December)

Dr. Steven Lewis is the Physician in Chief and Chief of Neurology at the Lehigh Valley Fleming Neuroscience Institute at Lehigh Valley Health Network in Allentown, PA, where he holds the Timothy M. Breidegam Endowed Chair in Neurology. He is certified by the ABPN in Neurology and Vascular Neurology and participates in continuing certification.

He is also the liaison to the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties and the American Stroke Association. Dr. Lewis is a past Chair of the Neurology Residency Review Committee for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), served as Chair of the Neurology Milestones Working Group and Advisory Group for the Neurology Milestone Project, a joint initiative of the ACGME and the ABPN, and served on the Neurology Milestones 2.0 Working Group. He is immediate past Editorin-Chief of Continuum: Lifelong Learning in Neurology for the American Academy of

Neurology (AAN). Dr. Lewis is Secretary General of the World Federation of Neurology (WFN), Chair of the WFN Education Committee, and serves as the Editor of World Neurology. In 2019, Dr. Lewis was the recipient of the A.B. Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education from the AAN, and in 2023 he was the recipient of the American Neurological Association (ANA) Award for Excellence in Education.

Dr. Nina Schor is currently the Deputy Director for Intramural Research of the National Institutes of Health. She is certified by the ABPN in Neurology with Special Qualifications in Child Neurology and participates in continuing certification.

For five years, she served as the Deputy Director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; for 11 years she served as Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Rochester and Pediatrician-in-Chief of its Golisano Children's Hospital. She was President of the Child Neurology Society from 2013-2015 and Secretary of the American Neurological Association from 2009-2013.

Dr. Schor was previously a member of the Science Committee of the AAN from 2009-2015 and 2018-2022 and the National Institute of Neurological Disorders NST-1 Study Section from 2008-2015. She is also an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Schor's research program was continuously nationally funded from 1989-2017 and focused on the design and preclinical testing of targeted therapies for neuroblastoma.

During their service as Chair of the ABPN, Drs. Lewis and Schor also serve as Chair of the Neurology Council and several ABPN Committees. Drs. Lewis and Schor succeed 2023 Board Chair Joan Anzia, MD.

# ABPN Vice Chair Christopher R. Thomas, MD

Dr. Christopher Thomas is Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Medical Branch. He is certified by the ABPN in Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and participates in continuing certification. As Vice Chair of the ABPN, Dr. Thomas also serves as chair of the Psychiatry Council and several ABPN committees.

He was a Regent of the American College of Psychiatrists in 2019 - 2023 and he is an Associate Editor for the *Journal of Graduate Medical Education*. He was previously Chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Psychiatry Review Committee and the ACGME Psychiatry Milestones Committee. Dr. Thomas is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, and a Fellow of the American College of Physicians.



Christopher R. Thomas, MD

Dr. Thomas is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, the AACAP and a Fellow of the American College of Physicians.

Dr. Thomas succeeds 2023 Board Vice Chair Allison Brashear, Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo in Buffalo, NY.

"We are very fortunate to have Drs. Lewis, Schor, and Thomas leading the Board in 2024," ABPN President and CEO Dr. Jeffrey Lyness said. "All three are remarkably accomplished colleagues, nationally and internationally recognized in their fields, and they have been deeply committed to our mission at the ABPN. I look forward to working with the Board under their leadership in the coming year."

## New to the ABPN Board

The ABPN welcomes two new board members in 2024.



Igbal Ahmed, MD

Dr. Ahmed is a Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences and a Clinical Professor of Psychiatry and Geriatric Medicine at John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM), University of Hawaii. He was formerly the Geriatric Psychiatry and General Psychiatry Residency Program director at the University of Hawaii, JABSOM.

Dr. Ahmed is certified by the ABPN in Psychiatry, Geriatric Psychiatry, and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry, and participates in continuing certification.



Erika Fullwood Augustine, MD, MS

Dr. Augustine is Associate Chief Science Officer at Kennedy Krieger Institute and Associate Professor of Neurology at Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, MD. She is also Director of the Clinical Trials Unit at Kennedy Krieger Institute.

Dr. Augustine is certified by the ABPN in Neurology with Special Qualification in Child Neurology and participates in continuing certification.

"Our new directors in 2024, Drs. Ahmed and Augustine, are highly accomplished and widely recognized in their respective specialties and subspecialties," Dr. Lyness said. "They each bring a wealth of experience and extremely helpful perspectives to our mission and activities. Both have been superb contributors furthering the excellence of our work at the ABPN through committee service, and we are very pleased to have them join the Board."

### **ABPN 2024 Board of Directors**

Additional members of the Executive Committee include Josepha A. Cheong, MD, Board Secretary; Jaffar Khan, MD, Board Treasurer; Imran I. Ali, MD, Board Member-at-Large; and Robert J. Boland, MD, Board Member-at-Large.

For the ABPN, the specialties of both psychiatry and neurology are represented on its board of directors.

In addition to Drs. Lewis and Schor, the 2024 ABPN Neurology Directors include:

- · Imran I. Ali, MD
- · Erika Fullwood Augustine, MD, MS
- · Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD
- Ericka P. Greene, MD
- · Jaffar Khan, MD
- Benn E. Smith, MD

In addition to Dr. Thomas, the 2024 ABPN Psychiatry Directors include:

- · Iqbal Ahmed, MD
- · Sheldon Benjamin, MD
- · Robert J. Boland, MD
- · Josepha A. Cheong, MD
- · Sandra M. DeJong, MD
- · David C. Henderson, MD
- · Andrea G. Stolar, MD

About the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and maintenance of certification processes.

For more information, please visit our website at <a href="www.abpn.org">www.abpn.org</a> or contact us at <a href="questions@abpn.org">questions@abpn.org</a>.







ABPN | 7 Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015

<u>Unsubscribe preilly@abpn.com</u>

<u>Update Profile</u> | <u>Constant Contact Data Notice</u>

Sent by abpncommunications@abpn.org powered by

